CONTEXT

April 7, 2014

Don’t let the door hit you on the way out

fontsI have been thinking for quite a while now that it might behoove me to give up web surfing – and blogging – both for reasons of health (too much sitting) and reasons of time management. It takes me almost two hours every morning to check all my favorite news sites, catch up on Facebook, answer emails, monitor my eBay listings, and so on.

Surprise – problem solved. I don’t need to mull leaving the internet because it has decided to leave me.

Since I don’t own a smartphone or a tablet, it has been made clear, in no uncertain terms, that the net is not interested in me. Or my 21″ monitor.

For one thing, even as I type this, I can barely read what seems to be 6 pt. type, the size used for statistics on the sports pages, meant to be read only by fanatics. And it doesn’t much matter how fast pages load if I have to spend valuable time zooming in and zooming out.

And who decided pale gray was the most appropriate shade for text? On some sites it’s so pale the words are barely visible.

Every site now is insanely graphics heavy – even my Yahoo weather page is compelled to load a giant landscape before I can get to the forecast. Often, thanks to whatever Java includes these days, photos don’t load at all. Text is so limited, it requires several clicks to actually find out anything.

It’s time to subscribe to the New York Times, I guess. Have fun, kids – ironically, you may just have created a new market for print.

 

3 Comments »

  1. A sad story? NOT. Change is part of what life’s about. Write to us again when you feel like it. When you have the need. I do the same with poetry and other art forms. Miss you.

    Comment by Carol — April 8, 2014 @ 9:32 am | Reply

    • people only say change is a part of life when something bad happens – when they mean crap is a part of life. doesnt mean we shouldnt complain every time. bitching is part of what life’s about lol.

      Comment by jchatoff — April 8, 2014 @ 9:51 am | Reply

  2. Feel free to send us a ‘CONTEXT’ whenever you are ‘riled up!’ Just don’t leave us hopeless.

    My Internet addiction is “Ancestry.com” All those little waving leaves, letting you know their vast search engines have turned up new census records, passenger lists, other family trees and photographs, etc. for the ancestors. I have taken to using the timer on my IPhone – set to 30 minutes!

    Comment by Celia Carroll — April 12, 2014 @ 6:11 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.